Infiniti JX Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Being a software engineer I often find myself thinking about how other systems work, the CVT in my new JX being one of those systems. I am not a mechanic so if I get something wrong please don't shoot me. As far as I know the CVT is mostly software controlled instructing CVT when to "shift", in the JX's case changing diameter of the variable diameter pulleys. I've noticed myself learning how to get along best with the CVT algorithms for increasing/decreasing drive ratios, for example

- In Eco, the CVT is too quick to get into a higher gear after a pedal mash, feels like an old slush box, so I find the standard mode algorithm more useful for acceleration
- In Standard if hit the gas somewhat hard off the line then draw back on the accelerator too much I find the CVT also fights to get my RPMs down quickly
- In Standard the "sweet spot" I have found in the CVT's logic is to squeeze the accelerator then hold it there or just back off ever so slightly and you get nice acceleration coupled with a gradual graceful drop in RPM...ah the joys of CVT :)

My JX has the "old" CVT, does anyone with a new CVT in their JX find it responds similarly? I'm particularity interested to know if Infiniti has kept6the same feel to the CVT, and thus the same or similar algorithms for gearing.