Infiniti JX Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We haven't bought yet, I am still studying. One thing that kinda surprises me is the apparent lack of automatic daytime running lights. I'm talking about headlights (or other forward facing lights) that come on when the car is started, and switch to full lights (including side and rear) when it starts to get dark. Am I missing something in my research (including the owner's manual that I have downloaded)?

·
Registered
289 Posts
No, this is not correct. Fog lihgt will not be on by its own. It will be only on when the headlihgt is on. YOu can't use the fog lihgt as DRL. The US models has no DRL, period. I personally don't think it is a safety issue or anytihng. If you want,you can always turn on the headlight. But hose LED DRL in some other modles looks really cool.

·
Registered
80 Posts
The lack of daytime running lights for US models seems to be a Nissan preference. I remember when we had our Armada, someone on one of those forums wrote Nissan's customer care to ask why. Their answer was paraphrased as "you can turn them on if you want, but we wanted the driver to have the option."

·
Premium Member
820 Posts
We've had a 2006 Murano, a 2010 Armada, now have a 2012 Rogue and by Friday, the JX. None have daytime running lights, but I do understand they are on the Canadian models. I am surprised since we've had it on older vehicles like our 97 Savana van. We are so used to turning on the headlights as soon as we get in any vehicle now. I do wish Nissan would add this feature and with LEDs, there would never be a problem with the lights burning out.

·
Registered
98 Posts
I can confirm that the Canadian Model does have the daytime running lights and the fog lights can be turned on without the headlights being on.

·
Registered
289 Posts